Gluten Free Oreos Are Here! Everything you need to know and where to find them.

The entire gluten free community was giddy with excitement when late last year, the announcement came out that Oreo was adding two gluten flavors permanently to their line, regular and double-stuff. These Oreos are certified gluten free (and fashionably wearing the new symbol), so many people are super excited to buy them immediately after they hit shelves. So what do you need to know about the ingredients, and where and when can you find them?

About the Ingredients:

These are the ingredients being advertised online:


Ingredients: SUGAR, WHITE RICE FLOUR, TAPIOCA STARCH, PALM OIL, CANOLA OIL, WHOLE OAT FLOUR, CORNSTARCH, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), INVERT SUGAR, SOY LECITHIN, BAKING SODA, SALT, XANTHAN GUM, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.


A couple key items of note:

-These do contain SOY (the only top 8 allergen they contain)

-Original Oreos are NOT non-GMO and specifically say they are genetically engineered. I can't find anything to indicate that the gluten free Oreos aren't also genetically engineered.

-These contain Oat Flour, but I have not seen any information confirming whether these are purity protocol oats.

Where/When to Buy?

According to Oreo, these new gluten free Oreos will be available everywhere regular Oreos are sold. In my search, I only found that Walmart had it listed already on their website as a product.


Walmart:

Walmart shows that these are available for pre-order at $3.67 a box for either flavor. You cannot opt to pick up in store yet, meaning you have to pay $5.99 shipping for them to arrive on Jan 21, 2021.

I think it is really exciting when major brands make gluten free versions, especially after so many brands opted to start offering vegan versions of their items recently. Since gluten free is a medical requirement for anyone with Celiac and is also a common diet modification for other diseases, it is far past the time companies offer certified gluten free versions of their products. I am disappointed, though, that these seem like they will be genetically engineered. I personally have to avoid glyphosate, so I will likely not be able to try these when they are released.


If you are like me and cannot tolerate genetically engineered food products, I highly recommend Glutino's copycat Oreos. They are also certified gluten free and are certified non-GMO as well. Similar to these new "official" gluten free Oreos, they only contain SOY as a top 8 allergen.


No matter which Oreo version you choose to buy, I hope it is delicious and brings a smile to your face!

Recent Posts

See All

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

  • Black YouTube Icon

Made by Eating Well with Rochelle. Proudly created with Wix.com

NHICBadge_200x200.png